OUR FURRY FAMILY

Our furry family continues to add new members, despite the fact that we recently had to say a sad farewell to two of our family’s babies (rest in peace, Mimi and Tabby). My sister Manners and her partner Susan welcomed a new puppy into the family this past Friday. Meet Bonnie, our new fur-neice!

BONNIE

Just take a look at that sweet face! Bonnie is a Pomchi, which is a cross between a Pomeranian and Chihuahua, who was born on Christmas day 2021. She currently weighs in at 3.2 pounds, but will most likely stay small as her mother is only 7 pounds. Still, she is going to be a bit bigger than Mimi was. When we met Mimi in 2019, Linda and I could not believe how tiny she was because she looked bigger in pictures.

In the video below, Bonnie is checking out her new bed. It looks like a donut, so naturally she decides to try to eat it! My sister says that Bonnie is full of energy, very smart, and also very stubborn! Manners said she will fit right in, now that she lives in the “House of Stubbornness.” Bonnie is adjusting well to being alone in her playpen at night, so she isn’t interrupting their sleep much.

BONNIE IN FRONT OF THE ST. PATRICK’S DAY TREE

BONNIE IN THE CAR ON THE WAY TO HER FUREVER HOME

Our furry family also includes our fur-nephew, Zorro. He is a Labradoodle (a cross between a Labrador Retriever and a Standard Poodle) who lives with Linda’s sister Wendy and her husband Robin. They welcomed Zorro into their home a few months before the pandemic, so we have not been able to meet him yet. We hope to see them all before too much longer.

ZORRO

Zorro is an energetic fellow who loves to go for walks and play down at the Chambers Bay Dog Park in University Place (a city located next to Tacoma). He has lots of doggie-friends that he plays with on a regular basis. He does, however, know how to chill when the situation calls for it.

Z-MAN CHILLING OUT

Linda’s daughter Emily very recently said goodbye to her kitty Tabby, who shared her life for 17 years. But Emily still has the opportunity for some furbaby love. Just this past week she puppy-sat for one of her neighbors. This little cutie is named Hazey, and she is a Frenchie, a French Bulldog.

Hazey could very rightly say, “I’m all eyes and ears!” I am sure that Emily really enjoyed taking care of this “little slice of heaven,” as she put it.

HAZEY

Hazey has been accepted as an honorary member of our family since she will provide Emily with her puppy-fix from time to time.

EMILY & HAZEY

And everyone who reads this blog knows that my heart belongs to a Black Cat Ninja named Summer Girl. As you probably know, Summer Girl is a mischievous little furball who came up in our yard not long after we moved here, and has been firmly entrenched ever since. She has many talents, but the main ones are whining and lounging around.

SUMMER GIRL

IN HER FAVORITE SPOT ON THE BIG BED

I know I speak for the entire family when I say that our furbabies, past and present, have done a great deal to get us all through the pandemic thus far. I can’t imagine what it would have been like without them during what has been a very stressful two years (and counting, because we aren’t out of it yet). If you have a furbaby, be sure to give it an extra-big hug and say “thank you” for being there.

Join me every Wednesday (barring any unforeseen circumstances) for more from the Southerner in the Northwest.

Published by Peg

In 2007, my partner and I decided to pull up stakes from North Carolina, where I had lived all my life, and move to the Pacific Northwest to be closer to her family. When I retired, I decided to write a blog because I had always wanted to be a writer, but somehow never found the time for it while I was working. I figured that writing a blog would give me the chance to share my thoughts with others, and also combine my interest in writing and photography in one place.

12 thoughts on “OUR FURRY FAMILY

  1. This is wondeeful!!! Susan & I will prob miss Mimi forever, but this little Bonnie has def stolen our hearts, as well!!! She IS very smart and she’s learning fast. We love her sooo very much!!! That for another great story, sis!
    Manners & Susan ❤️ U💕🐶❣️❣️❣️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such cuties; all of them! Life would be pretty sad without them. Call us crazy, but we brought out cat with us to France. It was a long journey for him, but he’s settled in now and we’re so glad he’s here. We couldn’t even fathom finding a new home for him; he’s our sweet boy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope this comment isn’t a repeat, could have sworn I left one yesterday but I don’t see it now. 🤔
    Anyways, thanks for the introduction to the fur-babies. They are all so cute. Bonnie looks a very sweet addition.
    🙂 🐕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started